Kaurina’s Indian Icecream in Dallas Review

Few questions:

Who likes Icrecream?

Have you ever had Indian Icecream?

Have you guys ever heard of Kaurina’s?

Kulfi is the original ice cream of India.  Believed to have its origins in Persia, kulfi was introduced to the subcontinent by Moghul royalty in the 1500s.  Unlike most ice cream, kulfi is not whipped and is made with only pure cooked milk, sugar, and natural flavors.  The result is a decadent and intense flavor.”

Yesterday, I had my first taste of Indian Icecream from Kaurina’s! I ran across them one day on Twitter (don’t you just love social networks?!) and inquired about their product. I talked to one of the owners, Aman Singh, and he was kind enough to send me a sample of his product for my honest review! But before I received it, I read over alittle info:

“Kulfi is made with pure cooked half and half milk that is slow simmered for one entire day. It is made with all natural ingredients, sweetened with cane sugar, flavored with only natural ingredient flavors (real fruits and real roasted nuts).”

“Kulfi is half the calories, fat and sugar of Haagen dazs or Ben & Jerry’s icecream!” Now this statement got me excited! I’m a type 2 diabetic who is honestly in love with sweets! I was diagnosed with diabetes in 2009 and it has been a constant struggle with either trying to cut out sweets altogether or eating them in moderation. The idea of giving up sweets forever is something I can’t even imagine having to do! So I couldn’t wait to try the icecream in case it was something I could actually eat and enjoy!

Kaurina’s shipped the icecream to me in dry ice and it was here in one day! I received 5 full size bars (vanilla, chocolate, pistachio almond, Malai and strawberry) and a box of 6 snack size mango bars.

My very first thought when I saw it was “I wonder how long this is going to last in this apt?!” LOL Icecream is one of myall time favorite snacks, so it normally doesn’t stick around too long!

Last night Mel (my son) and I tried our first taste after dinner. Mel is kind of picky about flavors he considers “weird”, so he stuck to the vanilla. I decided on the Pistachio Almond!

Since Mel is such a picky eater, I wasn’t very enthusiastic about how much I thought he would like the icecream, but I was pleasantly surprised! After I tasted the vanilla and he’d eaten about half of the bar, I asked him what he thought. He shook his head and said “It has a really STRONG vanilla taste”. And it did! It was amazing!

All you tasted was vanilla and MILK. I LOVE milk btw!  Another word that came to mind was RICH. I was worried that I wouldn’t think it was sweet enough (remember I LOVE SWEET), but that was not the case. I loved it!!! So much that I immediately broke open the Pistachio Almond!

I actually took notes last night so that I could let you know what came to mind as I was eating:

Tasted milky

little bits of nuts

creamy

and by the time I got to the end, I realized that I had not encountered any large pieces of nuts…they were minute, but all throught every bite. I like that!! I’m not a big nut person but I like the flavor, so this was good for me.

By the time I’d finished the bar, I was surprised that I felt like my sweet tooth had been satisfied. I can be alittle greedy when it comes to sugar, but that icecream did the trick! It was like the difference between eating a piece of regular milk chocolate and a piece of rich, imported chocolate!

I think I have found a new love: Kaurina’s Icecream! I would encourage all of my sweets lovers out there to go and pick up some! You really shouldn’t miss out on this. Only 11 grams of sugar! I didn’t even feel guilty after eating it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The snack size bars are only 80 calories!

As a matter of fact, I’m about to try a snack size one right now! Thank you Kaurinas! You’ve introduced me to something that’s too good to keep to myself!!


One thought on “Kaurina’s Indian Icecream in Dallas Review

  1. Hey Rmsocialmedia,
    I know what you mean, Wouldn’t anyone be interested to know what is Simply Indian – ethnic, warm and classy?
    Keep up the posts!

Leave a Reply

