Black and White Layers of Ian Hodgson

Alexandra Gallagher

So I think I’m getting used to this whole new technology thing, but I still may publish this post half way through by accident… Like yesterday… And I had only noticed after it was published that I had called the artist Jon instead of Joe… The air was indeed blue for a moment. It also means lots of spelling mistakes! Don’t judge – I can’t spell at all… This is why I paint Ha!

Today I’ve been looking through the work of Ian Hodgson over my morning coffee. I love the use of layers in his work, I feel it adds depth and movement.

The drawing techniques that I use expose other, seemingly invisible layers, and here the drawing process acts as a metaphor for the physical and psychological experience of my journey, as fragments of what went before are revealed on the paper. (Ian Hodgson)

You can check more…

View original post 16 more words

Leave a Reply

