Review of Record’s BBQ in Oak Cliff, Dallas

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today, Marvin and I decided to try a small, local place here in Dallas called Records BBQ. If any of you  have ever lived in Dallas, then undoubtedly, you’ve heard of them. Eventhough I had heard of them, I’d never taken the time to go and visit, until today!

When people would talk about BBQ here, they would always mention this place, and for good reason!! First of all, we were pleasantly surprised by the number of menu items they offered. There was chicken, links, ribs, pulled pork and turkey legs in the bunch! Of course I got a “plate” which consisted of 2 meats, beans and potato salad. I got mine with ribs and links. Marvin got his with chicken and pulled pork. Absolutely amazing!! The meat was tender and the bbq sauce was sweet, but not too much so!

We were both more than satisfied with the food! The beans had a hint of chili, which was amazing! The only complaint we had was the taste of celery in the potato salad, but that’s just a personal preference…(don’t like celery).

Overall,the meal was outstanding and we would definitely recommend Records BBQ in Dallas!!!

5 thoughts on “Review of Record’s BBQ in Oak Cliff, Dallas

  1. Records BBQ on Lancaster in Dallas is expensive, their staff is rude, their service is painfully slow even when over staffed and no other customers. The security guard posted in the parking lot is also rude, unprofessional & unapproachable. The sandwich was on plain bread that when finally server had BBQ sauce everywhere except on the meat or inside the sandwich causing it to fall apart as I was unwrapping & getting covered in BBQ sauce.

    Prior to leaving I attempted to get a couple (not a bag full, just a couple) extra napkins that were sitting on the counter by the register because even when correctly made, a BBQ sandwich can require an extra napkin or two. The rude lady at the counter almost slapped my hand and rudely told me there were some napkins in the bag as she snatched the napkin right out of my hand like someone would do to their 3 year that has already been told “NO!”. She acted as if I was filling a backpack to stock my home with stolen napkins from Records BBQ. With a smile and a “Good day” I left only to discovered there was one cheap napkin in the bag. Because the BBQ sauce was intentionally on the exterior as opposed to the interior of the sandwich one napkin was not sufficient. Which I’m sure was why I wasn’t allowed the extra napkin. I guess they showed me huh? I almost hate to think what else they might have done to my food. I choose not to. Yuck! Anyway, The sandwich was not eatable as a sandwich in its current state. Because I was already covered in sticky BBQ sauce & it cost me almost $10, I picked the sloppy mess to get the few cold pieces of meat that was there. Disregarding the mess on my hands, cloths and interior of my car. I wasn’t & didn’t allow their hate to infect my “Good day” however. I’m sure they can and do provide great BBQ & friendly service but because every person on that property is racist they “in your face” their dislike, prejudice & the fact your not welcome there. Making it clear to me they don’t want return business or any business from a cracker.. If you want BBQ in that area your better off going down the street a couple blocks. There is a BBQ place on same side of street that doesn’t see the color of your skin just the color of your wallet. Tip a couple bucks when you order and they will clear the checkout line, start your order immediately, get you a bag full of napkins and open the door for you on your way out! All with a very friendly smile on their face.

  2. I just had the pleasure of eating here this past weekend with my cousin and my tastebuds were very happy! I’m moving to the Dallas area in a few weeks and will definitely make the sojourn south to eat here again.

Leave a Reply

